Board of Trustees

The aim of the Board of Trustees is to bring to public the scientific work of the institute and to support the Max Planck Institute in its concerns in Magdeburg.

In addition to the Scientific Advisory Board, which is responsible for the permanent scientific advise, the Board of Trustees is another body of experts to advise the directors of the institute in social, political or economical issues. The Board of Trustees consists of high ranking representatives of government, the science community, business, and the media.

The President of the Max Planck Society appoints the members of a Board of Trustees for a period of six years. The Board of Trustees of the Max Planck Institute Magdeburg first met  September 7th, 2006.


Prof. Dr. Kurt Wagemann
CEO, DECHEMA, Gesellschaft für Chemische Technik und Biotechnologie e.V., Frankfurt/Main

Vice Chairman

Dr. Lutz Trümper
Lord Mayor of the City of Magdeburg


Dr. Andreas Neubert
Chief Scientific Officer, IDT Biologika GmbH, Dessau-Roßlau

Dr. Wilhelm Otten
former Process Technology & Engineering,  Technology & Infrastructure, Evonik Industries AG, Hanau (Wolfgang)

Prof. Dr. Andreas Schuppert
Key Expert Industrial Mathematics Bayer Technology Services GmbH, Leverkusen

Prof. Dr. Jens Strackeljan
Rector of the Otto von Guericke University Magdeburg

Dr. Eva E. Wille
former Executive Director Chemistry, Wiley-VCH Publishing Company, Weinheim

Prof. Dr. Armin Willingmann
Minister of Science, Energy, Climate Protection and Environment of the State of Saxony-Anhalt

(as of September 2021)


Meeting of the Board of Trustees of the Max Planck Institute for Dynamics of Complex Technical Systems Magdeburg on December 12, 2018: (from left to right) Dr. Andreas Neubert, Thomas Reitmann (representing Prof. Armin Willingmann), Dr. Wilhelm Otten, Prof. Kurt Wagemann, Dr. Eva E. Wille, Prof. Jens Strackeljan, Dr. Lutz Trümper, Prof. Andreas Schuppert
Go to Editor View